So You’re Tired…

This weekend I thought I’d cover my tips and tricks to employ for a good nights sleep before a full bout of freshers flu kicks in and we all struggle to drag ourselves from our warm beds. Not being able to switch off for slumber is a real bummer. In the past I have been known to get back out of bed and divulge in a whole season of some show until I doze off. But there are a few recent product discoveries and processes I’ve found that help me nod off when my head hits the pillow, every time.

Fresh sheets. It may just be me, but who else agrees that fresh sheets + fresh PJ’s + freshly bathed skin is one of the best feelings in the entire world? Just me? Of course you could take it one step further and get new bedding. I am itching to buy a snuggly fur throw for my bed to make things extra cosy, but… It’s not worth the diet of beans on toast that would follow suit.

This Works, yes it does. If there is one thing to take away from this post it is that the This Works Deep Sleep line rocks. Seriously. I’ve given the whole range a go but the stand out products are the Deep Sleep Pillow Spray, which does what it says on the tin and the Deep Sleep, Stress Less Rollerball which houses one of my favourite scents in the world (a blend of lavender and peppermint among others). I use the latter in times of stress, sleep-deprivation and bunged-up nose occasions.

Sleep in a tub. Yep I’m going to bang on about this again – Therapie’s Himalayan Detox Bath Salts. It’s honestly one of the best things I’ve discovered in the recent years. A sprinkling into each bath acts as a guarantee for an amazing night of deep dream-filled slumber; I’ve never used this and struggled to sleep after. I’m convinced that it’s magic.

Smooth and snooze. Along the same lines of the aforementioned products, I’m not sure applying the following directly correlates to a good night’s sleep, though isn’t it nice to feel all silky and smooth pre-bedtime and I’m convinced the scent of this stuff in particular does help slightly. It’s the Aromatherapy Associates Support Supersensitive Massage and Body Oil. I slap it on once I get out of the bath and it sinks in quickly while still giving that satisfied feeling of hydration. It’s the ritual, you know?

Relax. This the hurdle that I stumble upon the most. Switching off and winding down. Snuggle up with a book, or just lie back and soak in the heavenly scents you’ve just indulged in.

Follow the above and you’ll be bright eyed and bushy tailed for all Autumn/Winter mornings. Promise!

Leave a Reply

