In-Flight Beauty Regime

In preparation for all of you lovely people jetting off on your holidays this summer, I thought I’d unveil my in-flight beauty regime. This is something that I look forward to when flying – think of it as a major pamper session if you will. This is all part of an attempt to not look like a human raisin when I arrive at my destination, and *touch wood* it’s worked for me so far!
Air travel is the enemy of personal beauty – it breaks me out, my hair looks flat, my skin is yellow-grey, my eyes are red, and I’m just generally a sight for sore eyes.

Though this time – like the last couple of years, I have a game plan. I will arrive looking better than usual, with silky hair, glowing skin, bright eyed, and bushy tailed! I accomplish this through a few essential beauty products and avoiding the number-one airplane beauty killer: dehydration.

My pre-flight hydration game includes rubbing almond oil on my skin, argan oil on my hair, and shea butter on my feet before leaving the house. I also drink a lot of water and green juice.

Cleanser Bioderma Crealine H2O

To kick things off I take off my makeup with Bioderma and cotton pads until my face is completely clean. This is usually fairly easy as I don’t tent to wear a load of make-up when flying anyway.

TonerCaudalie Beauty Elixir or Omorovicza Queen of Hungary Mist

Then I spritz a heft amount of a toning spray onto my hands and press into the face. Just to amp up the moisture and prepare the skin.

MaskSisley Express Flower Gel or Dermologica Skin Hydrating Mask

Then I like to apply a thin layer of a hydrating facial mask. This is something that I like to re-apply throughout the flight and really helps to maintain the moisture within the skin. These masks are great as they’re both clear, so you won’t attract too much attention from the people around you! They sink into the skin whilst forming a layer or matrix over the face that attracts moisture to it and soaks it up like a sponge. After a few hours of reapplication I take a cotton pad with a bit of bioderma on it and sweep it over the face to remove the remaining residue of the mask.

SerumLa Roche Posay Effaclar Duo [+]

This is a great favourite of mine. I apply a thin layer as it keeps blemishes at bay and also works to hydrate the skin and prep for a moisturiser.

MoisturiserAlpha H Essential Hydration Cream, Liz Earle Skin Repair Moisturiser, OSKIA Bedtime Beauty Boost (my favourite)

For this I use any of the samples I have lying around. I’m a bit of a moisturiser hussy. I haven’t found one that I’ve fallen head over heels for yet – but this is something I’m working on. On a flight I like to use something that’s light, nothing too heavy and oily as I don’t want to look like an oil slick upon arrival.

Eye CreamGarnier Caffine Eye Roll-on or Laura Mercier Repair Eye Serum

Again this is a case of ‘what samples do I have lying around’. But I am a particular fan of the Garnier Caffine Eye Roll-on – it hydrates, cools and refreshes tired eyes, which is exactly what you need on a flight. Cream/Serum wise I think that the Laura Mercier Repair Eye Serum is a good bet, is cooling and calming and it sinks in pretty quick too.

Spot CreamMurad Blemish Spot Treatment

This isn’t always thrown into the mix, but more often than not a big ugly spot will rear its head the day before I’m due to take to the sky. It’s just typical stress induced breakouts – but I take this time to reapply the spot treatments in an attempt to zap them when they first start to come up. This one from Murad is clear and doesn’t smell like TCP so it’s pretty undetectable!

Lip BalmElizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream or By Terry Baume De Rose

Either would do the trick. Something hydrating and nourishing for the lips is just what’s needed on a dry flight. Make sure you keep reapplying this stuff. It’s also great to rub onto your cuticles.

Hand CreamCaudalie Hand and Nail Cream or Aesop Resurrection Hand Balm

Speaking of hands – a good hand cream is essential to this in-flight beauty pamper session. Keep re-applying focusing on the backs of your hands, and even take it up your arms if you’re feeling super adventurous!

Hair CreamPhyto Phyto 9

This leave-in treatment for dehydrated hair is perfect for sealing in some moisture into your locks whilst on your flight. Infused with eight plant extracts and macadamia oil, this weightless cream instantly nourishes, smooths, and protects the hair whilst preventing frizz and split ends. Hair is left shiny and manageable.

Eye MaskSilk Lavender Eye Mask

A must have for any flight! Sleeping is an easy pass-time.

When we’re about to land, or maybe 10 minutes before, I like to spruce up with a light amount of make-up to make myself look presentable when arriving at the other end – and for that I reach for…

ConcealerNARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla

Just to pop on any blemishes, under the eyes and around the nose area. This works really well lightly blended around any problematic areas as it is basically undetectable. It adds a nice radiant finish too!

Lip/Cheek Colour Clarins Instant Smooth Crystal Balm in Rose

This adds a subtle hint of colour to the lips and cheeks to perk things up at bit. It’s fruity too, which is great if you’re feeling a bit groggy and tired.

MascaraAny small sample size mascara I have

Just to add a bit of definition and to make myself look more alive, a quick slick of mascara does the trick.

PerfumeDiptyque Philosykos Roll-On Perfume Oil

Just to freshen things back up again and to liven myself up.

~

And there you have it… My in-flight beauty regime start to finish. Let me know if you have any product recommendations or steps I should add into my regime… Enjoy your holidays!

Leave a Reply

