Beauty Tool Kit – The Nails

For tidying up my talons my tools are very basic, items were either found at Boots or John Lewis/Fenwick beauty department. There are a wide number of tools out on the market, and there are certainly more experienced nail experts who know more about tools – my picks are based on my personal preference and requirements, I’m sure there are things I’m missing, but right now… this kit is good for me.

A Nail Clipper – It’s a boring tool, but a necessary one. There’s not much I can say about these, apart from… use carefully, and don’t nip your skin.

A Crystal Nail File – if you’re one who hates the feeling of filing nails, you need to check out Crystal Nail Files, a multitude of brands have these such as OPI and Leighton Denny. These have a unique fine-grade glass surface that is great for sensitive or thinner nails. It works by gently smoothing the nails edges – it also has a tapered precision tip to clean beneath the nail *it’s got to be done*.

Tweezerman Pushy Cuticle Pusher – a smaller tool for cuticles; I prefer smaller shapes, although some prefer ones with larger curved tips to match the natural shape of the nails, this one is sturdy and effective for me. For any kind of cuticle removal or care, I recommend you proceed with extra caution. Don’t push too hard and be extra gentle with the cuticles – this is where I recommend you observe a professional before hacking at your own.

Cuticle Nippers – another basic purchase, I’ve had two from Boots, both have lasted over 5 years, just make sure you clean them regularly with warm water and soap (any will do). I wouldn’t recommend using cuticle clippers regularly, I use them to clip hang nails or only use if the cuticles have been softened and properly prepped *please proceed with caution*.

Deborah Lippmann Cuticle Remover – When the going gets tough, reach for this fast-acting exfoliating treatment. It gently loosens and removes dry, dead skin around the cuticle to maintain healthy nails. When applied liberally and used with a cuticle pusher to push the skin back this works wonders. Follow with cuticle oil to feed those cuticles back to perfection.

Hand Cream – Aesop Resurrection Aromatique Hand Balm, I absolutely love this hand cream, so much so that my hands have slurped their way through a whole tube and are onto their second, which is unheard of for such a product category in my stash. Citrusy, non-greasy and good enough for hands, cuticles, feet, elbows and the rest. Rub over palms and cuticles to get those hands looking ship-shape.

So the third instalment of the Toolbox Edit is done and dusted. Keep your eyes peeled for a hair care related run-down.

Leave a Reply

