Beauty Tool Kit – Beauty Staples

Today I thought I’d give you a run down of my all time favourites. Not just monthly, or yearly, but all time staples that I always have hanging around my stash.

Most of these products are makeup related, mostly because I’m having a bit of a skincare revolution at the moment, and I’m not too particular about my body or hair products.

But there is one exception to the makeup-heavy trend is the Aesop Parsley Seed Deep Cleansing Mask. I’m on my second tube and it always manages to clear out my complexion, reducing blemishes and leaving things looking fresh. Slather on, either with fingers or an old foundation brush (which is what I like to use) and leave for the allocated time. This helps to remove any grime, oil or makeup that’s hanging around and gives the pores a good clear-out making the next step more effective. Dampen a muslin cloth then remove.

After skincare is the base makeup. Sometimes, I feel bad throwing on makeup right after my skin has been cleaned, but the Dr. Jart+ Waterfuse BB Cream makes it more bearable. This is one of four BB formulas from Dr Jart+ and their offering for oily skinned gals which contains a double trouble hit of skincare and coverage. Oil-free with SPF, containing Aloe Leaf Juice to prevent moisture loss and anti-redness ingredients – all with a hint of tint. It cancels redness to an “Is it there?” degree and manages to look natural all day long. Can you tell the love is real?

Perhaps my favorite part about the Dr. Jart BB Cream, though, is that it supplies coverage where you want it, but barely any in the places where it’s not needed. To perfect the skin even more, the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer gets cracked out, I use the shade Vanilla. The mousse-like texture smooths over everything and gives heavy-duty coverage. Again, “Is it there?”.

Luckily for me something that I fail to struggle with is getting a tan. But my face and body have different colour schemes which can look kinda weird sometimes… Nevertheless, the NARS Laguna Bronzer is perhaps the most stunning product ever as it eeks both sculpt and a healthy dose of color onto my face without looking orange or making it look like I had a complexion transplant.

Despite being a self confessed beauty junkie, I have a fettish for looking like I’m not wearing makeup, so for me, natural is the way to go. For this I smudge some of the By Terry Ombre Blackstar in Brown Perfection right in between my lashes to oomph up the volume and open up my peepers. The soft formula means I won’t loose lashes, and the brown shade is perfectly natural looking.

I’m having an epiphany: these products are so fantastic, in theory I should never need to try anything else. Pah!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

