Beauty Tool Kit – The Basics

For a beauty lover, a toolkit is essential. You have to have the right tools to be able to do the job properly – and in no other scenario does this run more true. You can throw on a bold matte lip any day of the week, but if you’re lips are dry and flaky it ain’t gonna look too great. See where I’m going with this?

This kit is essential to achieving great things in the beauty department.

The Inexpensive Tools

Cotton Buds – Aside from taking care of the obvious ear related duties, cotton buds are a girls best friend. Don’t we all find cotton buds come in super handy for cleaning up my makeup spills and smudges? Be it nail polish mishaps, eyeliner problems, lipstick corrections or heavy handed shadow applications – cotton buds are there to help. These are all the uses I could squeeze out of my cotton bud loving brain but this list is not exhaustive – i’m sure they can do other things too…

Spatulas – If a spot rears its ugly head then I definitely don’t want to spread any of its festering bacteria *lovely* so that’s when I find myself reaching for little spatulas to do the trick. Instead of using fingers or dirtying and contaminating brushes I find the easiest way is to grab a little spatula to apply spot treatments and concealer directly on the bad boy. No fuss, no germs – just wash them up when you’re done… or throw them away, your choice! (P.S. I particularly like it when brands provide little spatulas with their potted products, helps me out with the spatula stash. But seriously, note to brands: pots are not considered great in the beauty world… what’s so wrong with a pump?)

Flannels – this might seem like a bit of a strange choice, but a good stack of flannels will see you through cleansing, face mask removal and a good old wash. I pick mine up cheap and cheerfully from Primark – just beware that they can go fusty smelling if not washed on a high temp and dried properly. A staple for a beauty kit – because you’ve got to lay the foundations correctly to ensure you’re building a sturdy house.

Toothbrush – Good for everything. Almost. Aside from the obvious, a toothbrush is a great tool for ridding the lips of dry flaky skin, making sure they’re in tip top condition for lipstick application. Or alternatively an eyebrow-coloured eyeshadow loaded toothbrush through the brows is the best method for darkening up a barely-there set of brows. The possibilities are endless…

Spoolie – if I had a penny for every time I’ve combed through my bushy brows with one of these… well I wouldn’t have two jobs right now, that’s for sure!

 

The Pricey Tools

These products are worth it, and they really do last a long time too. Did someone say investment?

Tweezerman Tweezers – I’ll spare you the whole ‘I used to be Wolverene’ tale, but lets just say that tweezers for me are a serious staple. As well as being super useful for sticking on false lashes. The original Tweezermans may be a pricey initial payment but they are far superior to any others on the market and you can send them back anytime for a resharpen. Bonus.

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curlers – lash curlers were a bit of a revelation for me. As a possessor of lashes that are unable to hold a curl I never really knew the full flutter potential that could be achieved with these bad boys. A technique that looks painful, wrong and just a bit bizarre but one that makes all the difference.

Tweezerman Pushy Cuticle Pusher and Nail Cleaner – this fantastic 2-in-1 nail tool combines two necessary steps needed to achieve mani/pedi perfection. This tool’s super-thin edges are buffed smooth to prevent scratching while the textured body provides a perfectly secure grip. This is a serious must-have classic for mani’s and pedi’s.

Cuticle Scissors – are also a staple, mostly because they save me from painful, bloody situations *sorry for the mental image*. These little nippers won’t pull or yank when trimming hangnails and cuticles, which is always a bonus. Smooth, double spring-action is another hallmark of this brand — designed to hold up to regular wear and tear, the springs are guaranteed for the life of the tool. These are the tools you’ll have in your stash for years to come.

Japonesque Touch-Up Razor Set – If you’re blessed with bush brows like mine then some kind of tool to thin them out slightly is a good idea. Now, you do have to be careful with this one, as not to end up with some kind of ’90′s boy band bald stripe mid-brow, but I usually lop off some of the length in the inner centre of my brows as otherwise they brush halfway up my forehead.

 

Anything else you think I should add to my toolkit? All suggestions welcome…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

