EVENING MAKEUP

After seeing this post from Alix from I Covet Thee I was inspired to scribble down exactly what I reach for when I’m in preparation for a night out. Now.. let’s not get ahead of ourselves here, I’m not a wild party gal and a complete night owl. I couldn’t be more opposite. In fact I’ve often been known to say “I actually enjoy getting ready for night’s out, more than the night out itself”. Not a true student I know! But.. on the odd occasion I slip on my heels and sip on a few ‘Gin Jams’ with the girls, this is what I reach for…

Now much like Alix, my black uniform is adhered to on nights out, unless I’m feeling brave and crack out a coloured cami and blazer combo *how brave*, And I slip on my Whistles French 65 black pointed courts and grab my Statement Clutch Bag from Zara which is years old, and I love it. Job done.
Makeup wise, my foundation of choice is a toss up between Bobbi Brown Longwear Even Finish and NARS Sheer Glow (reviews of both can be found here) both imitate perfect skin and the NARS one is particularly good for photo situations as there’s no pesky SPF that might cause flash back and make me look like I have a ghost face. Teamed with the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer  and Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light the base is good to go.
For special occasions I am partial to sculpting myself out some cheekbones – and the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder is the one for the job, along with its sister the Celestial Powder for highlighting. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Dim Infusion is dusted lightly on my cheeks to pep things up a bit before I move on to eyes.
Depending on what look I’m going for the eyes are either played up or down. If my black outfit is in play then I usually opt for a killer red lip, and will reach for something like the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in either Red Square, or my old favourite Cruella – with this look I’ll dust some of the KA Celestial Powder all over my eyelids and the Sculpting powder in the crease, curl my lashes and then add a copious amount of the L’Oreal Paris Volume Million Lashes mascara to seal the deal.
If I’m not feeling the red lip, I’ll opt for something bronzed and beautiful all over the lid like MAC Mulch with Espresso through the crease. Teamed also with lots of the aforementioned mascara and a wash of MAC Patisserie on the lips.All that’s left is a quick spritz of Diptyque Vetyverio, a deep musky scent with a hint of freshness which I will always be seen sporting in the evening and I’m ready to go!

What are your night out make up staples?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

