New In

My leave of absence from the blog sent me into a downward spiral of obsessive purchasing.

IMG_9448

Hourglass – Now you may remember here that I proclaimed my love for the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blushes, and true to form, they are mine! Say hello to Dim Infusion, Mood Exposure and Luminous Flush (L-R). These blushes are a hybrid between their Ambient Lighting Powders and pops of colour which impart that whole ‘glowing from within’ thing. They’re exactly what I expected, and more. My favourite is Dim Infusion, riddled with peachy tones that gives a subtle flush similar to my own. Although Luminous Flush is a close runner it’s bronzey and beachy and I can’t wait to put it to the test on holiday this summer!

IMG_9458

NARS – I had a bit of a NARS blow out. Now lets not judge… this is a haul of the past two months worth of spending, induced further by pre-exam depression. I have a problem.
But… I finally got my hands on the Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla after a UK shortage of the stuff, and I can confirm that yes… It was well worth the wait! Please pray that they never run out of stock again.

Another NARS purchase was the Multiple stick in Maui and this is by far one of my favourites. It’s a beautiful blush colour, but it’s so good on the lips too. In fact, I’d go as far as to say that it might be my *favourite* lip colour so far. It’s just a shame that it’s such a dry consistency, meaning that it doesn’t always sit very well on the lips and things can start to look a little creased.

So because of this problem with the Multiple stick, I set off on a hunt for a lipstick dupe, and although I haven’t found it yet.. I’ve definitely stumbled across another love on the way. Enter NARS Satin Lipstick in Niagara – a pink based coral that I’ve just fallen in love with! Perfect for the summer, perfect for the winter. An instant pick me up in a bullet. I think I’m in love.

IMG_9462

Eyes – Now I’m cheating a bit here, there may or may not be another NARS purchase in this category, in the form of a Due Eyeshadow in Kalahari, marked as a Gold confection and a Sugared cocoa, these two are beautiful. Kalahari appears in one of my favourite palettes ‘And God Created the Woman’ and here is where my love affair began. Swept all over the lid this shadow imparts a subtle shimmer and a warm hue, but packed on with a flat brush and buffed out – this can create a show stopping bronzed smokey eye like no other. Top marks.

Perhaps a close runner up as my favourite purchase of the lot is the By Terry Ombre Blackstar in the shade Brown Perfection. A twist-up, thick pencil formed eyeshadow that glides on, stays put through rain or shine and adds the definition needed to ramp up the eyes. I find it’s best as an eyeliner/smudger outerer rather than an all over the lid jobbie but it’d do both if you wanted. Recently you can find me lining my eyes thickly, top and bottom and blending it right out… Olsen-style.

And last but not least is a new mascara entry – Le Volume de Chanel Mascara in 10 Noir. Now here’s my only gripe.. I wanted the mascara, but I wanted it in brown so with a range including Bleu, Noir, Prune and Khaki Bronze I didn’t really have much of an option. I guess Khaki Bronze would of been my best shot, but they didn’t have it in stock. So, I bit the bullet and went for the black and… I love it. I love the formula, it holds a curl, and adds volume like no other without flaking or clumping. I just wish it was brown.

So for now I’ve curbed my spending and tied up my purse strings. Let’s just hope that the summer launches aren’t too enticing!

Leave a Reply

