The Killer Duo

Contouring is my best friend, not only because I love seeing such a visible result, but because it has a the ability to transform my big round face into something a bit my aesthetically pleasing. And with conturing, comes highlighting. Naturally the only thing to do was to have a killer duo from the same product family. Enter Mr Kevyn Aucoin…

Contouring– Now I’ve tried a multitude of cream and powder products, but nothing has ever got me as interested and hooked as the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder in Medium. If you haven’t tried it, then you’re seriously missing out on a good one here! I’ve found that the easiest place to source Kevyn’s goods is Space NK, which is fast becoming my second home (I’m on first name terms with the sales assistants).
The sculpting powder ticks every single box – it’s blend able, subtle, and the right mix of cool toned grey and brown shades which creates a natural shadow to the hollows of the face.

Applied under the cheekbones and chin, onto the temples,and down the jawline and sides of the nose, you’ll end up with a perfectly sculpted model-esque face. I’ve never manages to over apply this product – I use the Real Techniques Duo-Fibre Contouring Brush and find it picks up and deposits just the right amount of product onto the face. It’s so natural that I doubt others can tell the difference, but that’s the point. When I look in the mirror I see a much more defined set of cheekbones and that for me.. is enough.

The only problem I have with this product is that it’s too good. I use it every day, and not only as a contouring powder, but as an eyeshadow too, it’s the most beautiful crease shadow that deposits a lovely subtle shadow and now, my eyelids feel naked without it.

Highlighting – For this, Kevyn delivers the goods again, the Celestial Powder in Candlelight is like a candle lit glow in a product. Its gorgeous and elegant which imparts a subtle, but noticeable glow. Applied to the forehead, cheeks, temples, chin and even décolleté it’s a top highlighting offering. The pearl powder gives an ultra-light shimmer without looking glittery and obvious, and with a warm apricot tone running through it, it gives a whisper of colour ideal for all complexion tones. Again, this is also perfect as an eyeshadow, just watch you don’t fall into the same trap as me.. because you’ll never be able to use anything else!

Leave a Reply

