Foundation Fix

Finding the perfect foundation can often seem like an impossible task, but with so many fantastic formulas on the market today, I find it difficult to find one that I don’t love. So sit back and enjoy my top 5 that have stood the test of time and remain on rotation for all different occasions.

For a sheer coverage finishNARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser – (I wear Groendland) – £28.00 – from Space NK. An oil-free formula that provides light to medium coverage and sun protection while helping to reduce the appearance of hyperpigmentation and dark spots. This is a hydrating offering, infused with Kopara from French Polunesia and mineral rich seawater to revive the skin, leaving it to appear visibly softer, smoother and brighter. When I wear this I feel like I’m glowing from within! The veil like coverage of this tinted moisturiser is perfect for every day wear for those who want to even everything out.

For a full coverage finishGiorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation (I wear 5) – £34.50 – from Selfridges. Best. Foundation. Ever. Now theres a claim for you. This full coverage offering delivers like no other, theres no cake, no powdery particles, and it lasts all darn day. The finish is not too matte, nor too dewy, its just in-between the ‘perfect’ area of the spectrum. There are many positives to this product; there’s no SPF, so it’s perfect for flash photography situations, there are 21 shades(!) so theres no excuse for not finding the perfect one, the coverage is what you make of it – built up with a brush its perfect for night time, but its equally as lovely blended with fingers for a daytime approach and it’s virtually undetectable, giving that “I woke up like this” glow. Perfect

For an oily galsBobbi Brown Long-Wear Even Finish Foundation (I wear 3 Beige) – £30 – from Selfridges. This is the one for all day occasions and those hormone related oily and bad skin days. I use around two pumps for my whole face which imparts a light to medium coverage when applied with a brush. The website describes a matte finish, but I’d say this is sits in-between. Throughout the day it stars to get a bit more glowy, which I actually like. To round it up, It’s ridiculously long wearing, perfect for daytime to evening occasions, its medium to full coverage, and provides a satin like finish that imparts a subtle glow whilst keeping the grease at bay. What’s not to like?

For glow gettersNARS Sheer Glow Foundation (I wear Santa Fe) – £30.50 – from Space NK. A glowing, natural radiant finish foundation that imparts a sheer finish coverage that evens skin tone and brings the glow. This is one for the normal-to-dry and dry skin types, a transparent and weightless look with sheer to medium coverage. Warmed up and applied with fingers, a little goes a long way with this one. I find it best applied with fingers, but a built up version is equally as nice when it’s applied with a brush. Definitely one to try if you’re interested in a glowing look.

The tinted moisturiser highlighter hybrid – Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint (I mix Bronzed with Pearl) – £30 – from Cult Beauty. Luminizing… now that’s an understatement! This bad boy is dew-ey. This is light-to-medium foundation-like texture with some serious glow, Pearl could almost be mistaken for a highlighter. Now colour wise, I’m at a crossroads, and that’s because Jouer is a bit of an online-only offering in the UK at the moment meaning I couldn’t swatch and colour match. So… I got two. First I got Bronzed, which is perfect for me in the summer when I have a tan, in fact more often than not, that is still too light. But for the time when I don’t have a deep tan, it’s just a tad too dark, but mixed with Pearl, it’s a winner. In fact i’ve been know to mix Pearl with a lot of my aforementioned foundations to ramp up the glow!

Keep your eyes peeled to see if this five may become seven (YES – seven!) as I finally bit the bullet and got matched for the YSL Youth Liberator Foundation and CHANEL Vitalumiere Aqua Foundation that everyone’s going crazy for. I’ll keep you updated.

4 comments

  1. I’m tempted to get the Nars Pure Radiant as I’m all for the natural look this summer! I have Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and it is my staple summer foundation, just did a review on it last week :)
    Im a new Irish blogger and I’ve been really enjoying the content of you blog, let’s follow each other?

    Cecilia x
    http://ceciliascorner.net

Leave a Reply

